Home / India / Rajya sabha Polls

Rajya sabha Polls

Everything is set for Election for polling of 11 Rajya Sabha seats in UP.  In 403 member assembly SP has 229 MLAs, BSP has 41 and CONGRESS 29.

Rashtriya Lok Dal(RLD) who’s got eight MLAs has promised to transfer votes to Samajwadi Party and Congress. Bahujan Samajwadi Party(BSP) has 80 MLAs with 34 first preferences needed to victory.

BSP has fielded Satish Chandra Mishra and Ashok Sidharth.

BJP has fielded Shiv Pratap Shukla whose victory is certain.

The nomination of social worker Preeti Mahapatra, who forced a contest by jumping in the fray as an Independent, was proposed by 16 BJP MLAs, rebel SP MLAs and some members of smaller parties and Independents.

Rajya Sabha candidates in the fray are — Amar Singh, Beni Prasad Verma, Kuwar Rewati Raman Singh, Vishambhar Prasad Nishad, Sukhram Singh Yadav, Sanjay Seth and Surendra Nagar (all SP), Satish Chandra Mishra and Ashok Sidharth (both BSP), Kapil Sibal (Cong), Shiv Pratap Shukla (BJP) and Preeti Mahapatra (Ind).

Check Also

Opioid commission: We need drug courts, not prisons, for abusers

That sweeping change was one of the boldest of the 56 recommendations made by the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *